Arup Chakraborty elected to National Academy of Medicine

Arup K. Chakraborty, the Robert T. Haslam Professor of Chemical Engineering and founding director of MIT’s Institute for Medical Engineering and Science (IMES), has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM) in recognition of his distinguished contributions to medicine and health. Chakraborty, a professor of physics, chemistry, and biological…

Read More

Elazer Edelman honored with Cardiovascular Research Foundation career achievement award

The following was adapted from a press release from the Cardiovascular Research Foundation. Elazer Edelman, the Thomas D. and Virginia W. Cabot Professor of Health Sciences at MIT, has been awarded this year’s Transcatheter Cardiovascular Therapeutics (TCT) Career Achievement Award ­for his extraordinary contributions to the field of cardiology. A lifelong researcher…

Read More

Researchers identify molecular motor that transforms chromosomes

Experiments confirm hypothesis about how the genome becomes organized into “neighborhoods.” A molecular “motor” that organizes the genome into distinct neighborhoods by forming loops of DNA has been characterized by researchers at MIT and the Pasteur Institute in France. In a study published in 2016, a team led by Leonid…

Read More