News Block3 On Home Page

With these nanoparticles, a simple test could diagnose bacterial pneumonia

Results could also indicate whether antibiotics have successfully treated the infection. Pneumonia, a respiratory disease that kills about 50,000 people in the United States every year, can be caused by many different microbes, including bacteria and viruses. Rapid detection of pneumonia is critical for effective treatment, especially in hospital-acquired cases…

Read More

Movement-enhancing exoskeletons may impair decision making

As engineers make strides in the design of wearable, electronically active, and responsive leg braces, arm supports, and full-body suits, collectively known as exoskeletons, researchers at MIT are raising an important question: While these Iron Man-like appendages may amp up a person’s strength, mobility, and endurance, what effect might they…

Read More

Alex K. Shalek named 2018 Pew-Stewart Scholars for Cancer Research

Alex K. Shalek, Pfizer-Laubach Career Development Assistant Professor, has been named one of five 2018 Pew-Stewart Scholars for Cancer Research. This program is a partnership between The Pew Charitable Trusts and The Alexander and Margaret Stewart Trust to support promising early career scientists whose research will accelerate discovery and advance…

Read More